NOTICE OF TRUSTEE ELECTION FRANKLIN INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

STATE OF TEXAS §

COUNTY OF ROBERTSON §

1. Pursuant to Texas Education and Election Codes, and in accordance with the laws and Constitution of the State of Texas, the Board of Trustees ("Board") of the Franklin Independent School District ("District") in Robertson County, Texas, hereby calls and orders a general election to be held on the 3rd day of May, 2025, for the purpose of electing three (3) trustees to the Board for regular full three—year terms:

Position 1; Position 2; and Position 3;

2. Pursuant to Section 11.0581 of the Texas Education Code, as amended, and Chapters 31 and 271 of the Texas Election Code, this election shall be conducted as a joint election with Robertson County and Franklin Independent School District. The County Elections Center, 601 N. Hearne Street, Franklin, Texas 77856 is hereby designated as the main early voting place, and Rebekah Callaway, is hereby appointed early voting clerk for the election. Requests for ballots by mail should be directed in writing to:

Ms. Rebekah Callaway, Early Voting Clerk PO Box 819

Franklin, Texas 77856

Email: elections.dept@co.robertson.tx.us

- 3. Requests for ballots by mail must be received no later than April 22, 2025, before the close of regular business or 5:00 p.m., whichever is later. Early voting by personal appearance will be held on Tuesday, April 22, 2025, through Friday, April 25, 2025, from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. and Monday, April 28, 2025, through Tuesday, April 29, 2025, from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
- 4. Rebekah Callaway has been appointed Chief Election Official. He is hereby authorized, in conjunction with the Superintendent, to make all arrangements necessary for the holding of said election and to serve as the District's representative for the purpose of coordinating with the election officials from Robertson County and the Franklin Independent School District to conduct the election in accordance with the laws of this State.
- 5. All requests by candidates to have their names placed on the ballot for the general election shall be in writing and signed by the candidate and filed with Rhonda Payne, Elections Administrator, at the Franklin ISD Administration Building, 1216 W FM 1644, Franklin, Texas 77856, along with any other information required by law. Applications for the general election may be filed on or after January 15, 2025, through February 14, 2025, at 5:00 p.m. The regular office hours for Rhonda Payne beginning January 15, 2022, will be 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Mondays through Fridays. Rhonda Payne's office shall be open from 8:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. on the last day to file.
- 6. The order in which the names of the candidates are to be printed on the ballot shall be determined by a drawing held in the lobby of the Administration Building as provided by Section 52.094 of the Texas Election Code, as amended. Franklin ISD shall post a notice of the

date, time, and place of the drawing on the bulletin board used for the notices of meetings of the Board of Trustees of the District. The notice shall remain posted continuously for seventy-two (72) hours immediately preceding the scheduled time of the drawing. Franklin ISD shall also mail notice of the date, hour, and place of the drawing to each candidate, at the mail address stated on the candidate's application for a place on the ballot, not later than the fourth (4th) day before the day of the drawing. Each candidate involved in the drawing, or a representative designated by him or her, shall have a right to be present at the drawing and to draw for a position on the ballot.

- 7. The candidate receiving the highest number of votes for each respective position shall be deemed to be elected and be entitled to serve as trustee.
- 8. All election materials including the notice of election, ballots, instruction cards, affidavits, and other forms which the voter may be requested to sign, and all early voting materials, shall be printed in English and Spanish, or Spanish translations thereof shall be made available in the circumstances permitted and in the manner required by law.
- 9. The results of the election shall be canvassed by the Board of Trustees not earlier than May 6, 2025, or later than May 14, 2025, at a meeting called by the Board of Trustees in accordance with the requirements of the Texas Open Meetings Act.
- 10. A substantial copy of this order shall serve as proper notice of said election, with the exception that the notice shall also include the location of each early voting and election-day polling place established by Robertson County. The notice, including a Spanish translation, shall be published at least one time not more than thirty (30) days or less than ten (10) days before the day of the election in a newspaper of general circulation in the District and posted not later than the 21st day (Saturday, April 12, 2025) before the election and remain posted continuously through election day on the bulletin board used for the notices of meetings of the Board of Trustees of the District. The District shall also deliver notice of this election to the Robertson County Clerk not later than the 60th day (Tuesday, March 4, 2025) before the election.
- 11. Said election shall be held in accordance with the Texas Election, as amended, and Education Codes, and only resident qualified voters of the Franklin Independent School District shall be eligible to vote at said election.
- 12. The polling places for this election shall be open for voting from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. on Election Day. In accordance with Chapter 43 of the Texas Election Code, as amended, the Board of Trustees hereby designates as polling places for the election the regular county polling places in Robertson County election precincts that contain territory from the District identified in the District's notice of election. The timings and locations for early voting and election-day in Robertson County are listed below.

[Execution Page to Follow]

PASSED AND APPROVED	by the Board of Trustees	of the Franklin Inc	lependent School
District the 12th day of February 2025	j.		•

/s/ Scott Phillips	
Scott Phillips	
President Board of Trustees	

ATTEST:

/s/ Kate Barnett
Kate Barnett Secretary, Board of Trustees

EXHIBIT A

EARLY VOTING - Early voting by personal appearance will be conducted as follows:

LOCATION

Robertson County Election Center 601 N. Hearne Street Franklin, Texas 77856

DATES AND TIMES

Monday	Tuesday	Wednesday	Thursday	Friday
	April 22, 2025 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.	April 23, 2025 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.	April 24, 2025 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.	April 25, 2025 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
April 28, 2025 7:00 a.m. – 7:00 p.m.	April 29, 2025 7:00 a.m. – 7:00 p.m.			

EXHIBIT B

ELECTION DAY

DATES AND TIMES

SATURDAY, MAY 3, 2025: 7:00 a.m. – 7:00 p.m.

LOCATION

The Pridgeon Center 351 Cooks Lane Franklin, Texas 77856